. :Cry, Wolf: .

I let the wound fester, and rot.

I felt the need to watch it decay.

To pick at the edges of the scabs,

just as it began to heal,

only to open it up again.

In the end, I knew,

no matter what –

you would walk away broken.

I would tear a hole in you so deep and wide,

it would never be filled.

Because I showed you kindness.

Because I showed you love.

Because I knew you’d never accept it.

 

Son of Air –

I fell for your tricks.

I fell for your deceit. 

I ate your lies, gobbled your half-truths. 

Laughed at your wit and knew you to be intelligent.

And all the while, every facsimile of intuition screamed at me to walk away.

But I ignored,

I denied,

I walked right past myself and waved…

Only to see you on the other side.

To give you the good, to know only good.

To feel only good.

I watched your smile and matched it,

watched your moves and copied them,

praying; “Is this what love is?

But behind my eyes,

She laughed at me –

Knowing the answers.

Now –

I see you,

I know you,

I understand you.

And now at last,

my only prayer,

is for your peace.

May you find it on your journey.

– Savannah

Leave a Reply

