.:Narcissa:.

 

Why do I keep seeing your face,

flash before my eyes?

Why does my head,

feel like it’s constantly on fire?

Why is it only when I try to rest,

that all the things I know are best

suddenly mean nothing?

 

Can you hear me screaming?

What’s wrong with the dream that I’ve been weaving?

Four years set out to discover you and myself,

bent, broken, and twisted

still alive but in Hell.

I’ve discovered Patience

but little else.

 

Before you can judge me

for crying out subtly

don’t forget that it was you who built this escape

even as I tried to erase it

replacing the snide remarks and comments

with compliments and honest prospects.

The clock is ticking but I can’t forget

this eerie feeling of regret,

Like I’ve been shattered and resewn

to the point that any little thing

might just set me off.

 

I see you shrinking back,

don’t be afraid!

I know it isn’t courage that you lack.

“Feeling jealous?”

Nah –

That’s just the scent of rage

filtered through a gilded cage

that I know I created for myself. 

 

 

Can you hear me screaming?

What’s wrong with the dream that I’ve been weaving?

Twenty-three years to discover myself,

bent, broken, and twisted

still alive but in Hell.

I’ve discovered Apathy

but little else.

 

Excuse me?

Just a moment, just a word of your time.

Oops.

That came out wrong.

Let me start over re-performing every word of your song,

But I won’t dance!

See? There’s a chance

that even in this empty shell

a Girl can still thrive in her self-created Hell.

 

– Savannah

Leave a Reply

